Diigo

Diigo is a social bookmarking tool that, in my opinion, is an easy way to keep up with all of your bookmarks and find interesting sites that other people have bookmarked. My favorite part of Diigo is the extension that I have installed in Chrome. It is a small button that is always there so I can easily bookmark a page, highlight a portion of a page, or open my library to quickly access my bookmarks. Adding tags is quite helpful because you can always search tags or click a specific tag to show all bookmarks with that particular tag. There is also an app for both iPhones and Androids so you can access your bookmarks wherever you may be. Another benefit of Diigo is that a group can be formed so that anyone that is a member of that group can access the same bookmarks. Here is a video about how to create a group.

 

Although I feel like Diigo is much more user friendly than LiveBinders, I feel like I will still use bookmarks in my web browser to quickly access my most frequently visited pages. It may just be that I am used to the bookmarks in Chrome, but I find it more time-consuming to click into my library and find a bookmark, say for Facebook, than it is to simply click my Facebook button at the top of my browser. However, this is a great tool to keep all of my educational websites readily available. Also, I could create a group for each of my classes, and the students could all access commonly used sites from any computer.

Leave a Reply

